The best thing for anyone and everyone: Passion for God.

Posted: June 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

Mark 11:30  The Message

“Jesus said, ’Love the Lord God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence and energy.”

What do you know?

Study the Bible like a soldier on a mission, not a scholar on a sabbatical.                           Mark Driscoll

 

1 Corinthians 2:2 

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

Above All

“Christ is not valued at all, unless He is valued above all.      –  Augustine

1 Corinthians 10:31 ESV

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

 

1 Corinthians 6:19-20  (NIV)

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

“Please root from my heart all those things which I have cherished so long and which have become a very part of my living self, so that Thou mayest enter and dwell there without a rival.”

          A.W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God

 

The Desire of your Heart

Do not impose on others what you yourself do not desire.

                                                                                       – Confucius

Live Passionately

Jeremiah 20:9
But if I say, “I will not mention his word or speak anymore in his name,” his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.

Passion for God

  1. is reflected in the decisions that you make

James 1:5  (NIV)

 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

  1. 2.     Shapes your priorities

1 Corinthians 2:2 

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

  1. 3.     Pushes you ahead

Galatians 5:7  NIV

You were running a good race. Who cut in on you to keep you from obeying the truth?

2 Timothy 4:7  (NIV)

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

Hebrews 12  (NIV)

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

1 Corinthians 9:24  (NIV)

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

  1. 4.     Breaks your heart

Romans 9:3  (MSG)

At the same time, you need to know that I carry with me at all times a huge sorrow. It’s an enormous pain deep within me, and I’m never free of it. I’m not exaggerating—Christ and the Holy Spirit are my witnesses. It’s the Israelites . . . If there were any way I could be cursed by the Messiah so they could be blessed by him, I’d do it in a minute. They’re my family. I grew up with them. They had everything going for them—family, glory, covenants, revelation, worship, promises, to say nothing of being the race that produced the Messiah, the Christ, who is God over everything, always. Oh, yes!

  1. 5.     Restores your soul

Psalm 3:3

But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high.

Comments
  1. […] The best thing for anyone and everyone: Passion for God. […]

  2. […] The best thing for anyone and everyone: Passion for God. (1gatherer.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] The best thing for anyone and everyone: Passion for God. (1gatherer.wordpress.com) […]